Le Petit Prince

If any of you know me, you will know that The Little Prince is my ALL TIME favorite book ever to exist.  I hold is so dearly to my heart, even more than the book Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close.  So, when Netflix decided to tell me that they’ve made a film from the book, I was not sure what to think.  I was not disappointed in the magic that the Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close book brought to the film screen, but I will tell you I’m always hesitant to see films made from the books that I love.  The Lorax was another.  Not the same as the book, but not disappointed.
I was going to wait a while before watching The Little Prince, but I got really anxious for no reason and felt the need to watch it.  I didn’t hate it.  I actually..

Okay, it’s not that simple.  The Little Prince was my favorite childhood book, it’s still my favorite book.  I love it so much, I have the elephant inside a boa constrictor tattooed on my arm.  This book has meant so much to me for so long, that anything that would attempt to ruin it would only make me sad.
The film was more than I could have hoped for.  It was different at first, and I could feel myself becoming angry, conjuring Antoine de Saint-Exupéry himself, to roll over in his grave.

But that’s just it.  I gave it time.  The aviator is a little girl’s neighbor, telling the story to her while her insane mother is working constantly.  The style, the wording, everything.  Ugh.  It just makes my heart melt and fall in love all over again.  I can honestly say, I was a little skeptical, and I was not disappointed.
The Little Prince was not degraded and slaughtered by the film.
I am so immensely happy.
Anyone who has yet to read this book, please, love yourself enough to read it and learn some of the most important life lessons.

Okay! Now I’m off to work, to play with puppies all day.

Leave a Reply

