and if I open my heart to you, I’m hoping you’ll show me what to do

I have learned that we have come to expect too much.
We want to change certain people, and I’ve learned that we can.
It will never be as easy as we wanted, and it will never be in the that way we wanted.
I’ve learned that you don’t have to change someone, because they can exceed every possible expectation you have for them.
It’s okay to take things slow.
If it’s worth it, it won’t be easy, and realistically, if it’s worth it, why rush?
I have learned that heart means everything, that heart is everything.
And everything means something to your heart.
It is in fact, impossible to tell your heart how to feel, and when to let go, and whether it needs to feel anything at all.
The heart will always win.
As much as I’ve tried to learn patience, and trust me, I’ve tried, it’s difficult to be patient and trust in your heart.  It’s a struggle, and sometimes, it’s worth the wait.
It’s easy to grow together, and to feel together, and it’s a hell of a lot easier to cry together, but it isn’t easy to outgrow the habits you’ve set in stone for yourself.
I have learned that I’m not always right.  No matter how much I study, nor how I think I feel about something.  I have learned that it’s only possible to outgrow everything you’ve always done when you truly want to.

I know what it’s like to feel like you’re alone, and I’ve learned that no matter just how lonely you feel, you are never truly alone.  They will always find you.  I will always find you.

Our brains have never functioned the same way, and maybe they never really need to.  Because communication and understanding will fill in the gaps.
And trust and stability will build security and confidence.
I will learn how to meet you half way, and I will know what it feels like to be strong together.  Being vulnerable alone is so very important, but being vulnerable together is essential to our being.
Love never dies.  It may fade, it may not be as prominent as it once was, but it never dies.
You’ll always feel something for your first love, and that’s okay.
It’s important to remember: they taught you how to love, not how to stop loving.

Leave a Reply

