sometime in 2007

The moment of movement.
caffeine in my veins and a faint ache in my heart.
Reflections of souls unknown flicker through shadows and sunshine on the glass walls surrounding me.  Staring at me and staring through me.  Familiar strangers fill the space beside me, but there’s a vacancy inside me I can’t seem to shake.  I look in the eyes of the man across from me and see his darkest secrets etched on the walls of buildings as we flow through time and space.  He pours himself another drink, and I try to speak to him through stillness.  We sat like this for what seemed to be days, silently filling the void between us.  Next stop, Washington D.C.
I wonder what would have happened if I never got off the that train.

Leave a Reply

